Search    all

As a premiere private institution, the school of film and television at LMU relies on the generosity of our alumni, friends, parents and corporate partners to provide the highest level of education in all areas of film, animation, television and digital media. It is because of the generous support of our LMU family that we are able to remain relevant in the ever-changing filmmaking industry.

Each year we increasingly rely on the support of alumni, parents and friends—like you—to offer students the finest programs and services. From panel discussions with some of the most influential leaders in the entertainment industry to a full-service internship program, we strive to maintain an educational environment that enriches the lives of everyone here at the School of Film and Television.

Our Director of Development, Stacy Barnes will be happy to assist you with making a meaningful gift to SFTV. Please contact her to discuss the various giving options. or call at 310-338-5981

Film Outside the Frame

Film Outside the Frame, SFTV's annual student awards and film festival, recognizes student achievements in all areas of filmmaking. Each year, top student work is screened at a major studio in front of friends, family, LMU community and industry professionals. Awards are given in the areas of Best Cinematography, Best Animation, Best Teleplay, Best Sound Design, Best Documentary and more.

Congratulations to all the FOF 2014 nominees and winners! Below is a full list of winners:

Cub Award
Love in Leo's World (Dir: Matthew Thompson)

Silver Lion Award
Martin (Dir: Justin Lee)

Golden Lion Award
omg (Dir: Joe Slavin)

Student Choice Award
The Classroom (Dir: Vivian Miranda)

Best Sound Design
Audrey Makes A Mixtape (SD: James Mackenzie)

Best Live Action
Audrey Makes A Mixtape (Dir: James Mackenzie)

Best Animation
Fragile Dreams (Kevin Molina-Ortiz, Skylar Wilcots, Lestter Segura, Justin Hubert)

Ian Conner Award For Best Cinematography
Audrey Makes A Mixtape (DP: Zhang Yu)

Dreier Family Award For Best Editing
Trash, Manufactured (Editor: Christopher Jones)

Arkoff Award For Best Produced Screenplay
The Classroom (Writer: Vivian Miranda; Prod: Kyle Laffey)

Best Documentary
The Magic Moment (Dir: Christopher Helkey)
Trash, Manufactured (Dir: Christopher Jones)

Best Production Design
Audrey Makes A Mixtape (PD: Sara Baum)

Best Original Undergraduate Screenplay
Cold Turkey (Writer: Edmund "Ned" O'Connor)

Best Original Undergraduate Pilot or Teleplay
Rehabilitation (Writer: Blaise Leone)

Best Original Graduate Screenplay
Sometimes The Wolf (Writer: Myles Reid)

Best Original Graduate Pilot or Teleplay
Wonderland Avenue - "Down the Rabbit Hole" (Writer: Rachel Brethauer)

Bernard Abbene Comedy Writing Award (Best Comedy)
La Hermandad (Writer: Mandy Faura)

SFTV Dean's Directing Award
Find Your Instrument (Dir: Solomon Onita Jr.)

The James Wong Best Picture Award
The Classroom (Writer/Director: Vivian Miranda; Producer: Kyle Laffey)

Faculty Award for Promotion of Social Justice
Trash, Manufactured (Dir: Christopher Jones)

Faculty Award for Global Perspective & Intercultural Experiences
Le Voyage (Dir: Luc Delamare)