Notable Alumni

people in writer's room

Alumni of LMU and SFTV work in a wide variety of roles in media and entertainment. Learn a little more about them here.

  • Melissa Blake ’95
    Writer-Producer | Ghost WhispererCriminal MindsHeroesSleepy Hollow

    Barbara Broccoli ’81
    Producer | SkyfallCasino Royale 

    Effie Brown ’93
    Producer | Dear White PeopleReal Women Have CurvesRocket Science
    CEO | Gamechanger Films

    John Cosgrove ’77
    Producer | Unsolved Mysteries 

    Kimberly Costello ’92
    Writer-Producer | Melrose PlaceJAG

    Kathleen Courtney ’79
    Producer | Chasing MavericksDaredevil 

    Matthew Cullen ’01
    Director-Producer | London Fields, A Boy Named Shel, Pacific Rim
    Commercial and Music Video Director | Adele, The Black Eyed Peas , Katy Perry

    Kahlil Joseph Davis ’03
    Director | Until the Quiet Comes
    Video artist and music video director 

    Steve Duncan ’79
    Writer | Tour of DutyA Man Called HawkThe Court-Martial of Jackie Robinson 

    Rick Dunkle ’06
    Producer | Criminal Minds 

    Steve Franks ’94
    Writer-Producer | Big DaddyPsych 

    Chris Hanada ’01
    Director-Producer | Little Big Awesome, The Off Season, This Isn’t Working 

    Shay Hatten ’16
    Writer | John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum 

    Brian Helgeland ’87
    Writer-Director-Producer | 42Mystic RiverRobin HoodL.A. Confidential 

    Winifred Hervey ’77
    Writer-Producer | The Fresh Prince of Bel–AirThe Cosby Show 

    Tim Iacofano ’78
    Producer-Director | 24Kingdom 

    André Jacquemetton ’89
    Producer | Mad MenThe RomanoffsStar Trek: EnterpriseBaywatch 

    Sarah Nicole Jones ’09
    Writer-Producer, Longmire 

    Kevin Kerslake ’83
    Music Video Director | R.E.M, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Smashing Pumpkins, and others 

    Tanner Kling ’00
    Producer-Director | Little Big Awesome, The Off Season, This Isn’t Working 

    Ted Kroeber ’02
    Producer | American GunFour Sheets to the Wind 

    Francis Lawrence ’91
    Writer-Director-Producer | The Hunger Games: Catching FireI Am LegendWater for Elephants

    Steve McEveety ’77
    Producer | BraveheartThe Passion of the Christ 

    Sean McNamara ’84
    Producer-Writer | Soul SurferThat's So Raven 

    Patrick Melton ’02
    Writer-Producer | FeastSawThe Collector 

    David Mirkin ’78
    Producer-Writer-Director | The SimpsonsRomy and Michele's High School Reunion 

    Glen Morgan ’83
    Writer-Producer | The Twilight Zone, The X-Files, Space: Above and Beyond, EventFinal Destination 

    Dave Meyers ’94
    Director | The Hitcher
    VMA–Winning Music Video Director | Billie Eilish, Ariana Grande, Taylor Swift 

    Jack Orman ’90
    Producer-Writer | ERMen of a Certain AgePan Am, JAG 

    Emily Spivey MFA ’96
    Writer-Producer | Up All NightSNLModern Family, Bless the Harts, The Last Man on Earth 

    Patricia Whitcher ’83
    Producer | GodzillaThorThe Terminal, Captain Marvel 

    James Wong ’83
    Producer-Writer, American Horror StoryThe X-Files, Final Destination, The Commish

  • Art Adams ’87
    Cinema Lens Specialist at ARRI 

    John Bailey ’64
    Groundhog Day, As Good as It Gets 

    Scott Cunningham ’94
    Music videos for Janet Jackson, Kendrick Lamar, Ariana Grande, and others 

    Shana Hagan ’89
    Breathing Lessons (Winner, Academy Award, 1997), Walk Run Cha-Cha (Nominee, Academy Award, 2020), 17 Sundance Film Festival selections, including Generation Wealth, Queen of Versailles, and Taylor Swift: Miss Americana

    Laura Jansen ’15
    Other Side of the Box (Winner, Midnight Short Competition, SXSW19)

    Vince Keala Lucero ’97
    Hawaii 5-0, Snatched, Snowden

  • Lauren Carara ’06
    Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, Ready Player One, Star Trek: Into Darkness, Battleship, Iron Man 2

    Raul Guerra ’02
    Family Guy

    Martin Hall ’96
    The Amazing Spider-Man, Hugo, The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers, Thor, Speed Racer

    Kevin Molina-Ortiz ’16
    Rise of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (Winner, ANNIE, 2019)

    Lauren Montgomery ’02
    Wonder Woman, Justice League, Batman 

    Peter Oswald ’03
    ParaNorman, Hotel Transylvania 

    Van Partible ’93
    Johnny Bravo, Pete the Cat 

    David “Dwooman” Woo ’08
    Trollhunters: Tales of Arcadia, Dinotrux Supercharged, Turbo FAST
    Director and Storyboard Artist | DreamWorks Animation

  • Bob Beemer ’77
    Bourne Ultimatum, Gladiator, Dreamgirls, Speed 

    Christian Buenaventura ’05
    American Horror Story, True Blood, The Vampire Diaries, In Treatment, 9-1-1

    Mark Camperell ’04
    Video Games | Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare, Assassin's Creed Revelations, Halo 4 

    Pete Elia ’91
    The Man in the High Castle, True Blood, Revenge, Dexter 

    Warren Hendriks ’01
    X-Men: Apocalypse, Deadpool, The Internship, TRON: Legacy 

    Brian Lapin ’02
    Knocked Up, Superbad 

    Alex Levy ’03
    Star Wars: Episode IX – The Rise of Skywalker, Star Trek: Into Darkness, Jurassic World, The Incredibles, Lost, Super 8 

    Laura Schmadel ’05
    True Blood, Ugly Betty, Palo Alto, Dexter

    Darleen Stoker ’84
    American Gothic, Men of a Certain Age, The Walking Dead, E.R.

    Damon Tedesco ’90
    First Man, The Hate U Give, The Last Samurai, The Thin Red Line

    Mario A. Vitale ’00
    The Avengers, Thor, A Nightmare on Elm Street 

    Mark Volman ’97
    The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon, Mad Men, Pirate Radio 

    Sean Wiedeman ’02
    Video Games | The Lord of the Rings: The Battle for Middle-Earth

  • David Maurer ’00
    Absentia, Whale Wars, Splinter, Bachelor Pad 

    Eric Spagnoletti ’99
    The Real World, The Challenge

  • Nick Alt ’01
    Founder and CEO, VYNL; Former VP of Mobile and TV, Vimeo 

    Francie Calfo ’89
    President, Imagine Television 

    Jason Constantine ’97
    President of Acquisitions and Co-Productions, Lionsgate 

    Bryan Davidson ’92
    Director of Animation Development, Skydance Animation 

    Steve Dontanville ’76
    Founder/Manager, Dontaville/Frattaroli Management 

    Roger Goff LLS ’87
    Partner, Wolf, Rifkin, Shapiro LLC 

    Paul Hook ’89
    EVP/Head of Motion Picture Production, ICM 

    Kathryn Nielsen ’76
    SVP/Controller, Theatrical Division, Sony Pictures 

    Jim Toth ’92
    Founding Board Member, Hello Sunshine Official